The British Racecourse Bookmakers' Association- A Brief History.

The original Northern Bookmakers and Backers Association was formed in April 1923 to help both bookmakers and punters in their dealings on the racecourse.

It changed its name to the Northern Bookmakers' Protection Association Limited in the 1930s.

By 2015 it was apparent that the 'Northern' part within the name no longer reflected the membership, and was hindering the work of the Directors with stakeholders in racing, who perceived a local/regional organisation rather than a vibrant Trade Association representing the largest number of bookmakers in the country.

The name has changed but not the aims.

The British Racecourse Bookmakers' Association:

Membership of the Association is open to all eligible bookmakers - cash or credit office proprietors, horse racing and greyhound track bookmakers and also point to point and harness and trotting bookmakers - and is a status symbol recognised by the betting public, as well as stakeholders and regulators within racing.

The Directors of the Board are elected at the Annual General Meeting by the members. There are currently 10 Directors. Each Director is elected for a term of 3 years before seeking re-election or retiring. The President, Vice President and Finance Director are elected by the Board annually at the meeting before the AGM.

The Association serves to protect its members' interests, assisting them where possible with their businesses. This includes Parliamentary and Governmental lobbying, meetings with racecourse managers, racecourse groups, the Gambling Commission, the provision of cost effective insurance (a requisite to bet at a horse racecourse)- £5 million Public Liability, the provision of 'printer till rolls' at a generous price, four boxes for £115, as well as the administration of the bookmaking and late pay for Northern Point to Points are some of the jobs done on a daily basis for members, all for an annual subscription of £90.There is no joining fee.

The Association gives advice on matters of concern to members over a wide range of areas, from the Gambling Commission, Administration of Tracks, Her Majesty?s Revenue and Customs, for example.

The Association runs a website, and members may access the forum page, on which a whole host of matters are discussed.

Each year members receive a Mel Fordham racing picture themed calendar with horseracing fixtures. Members may also purchase discounted tickets for the Aintree Grand National meeting.

Current List of BRBA Directors:

President: CG Hudson (York)

Vice President: DJ Peckham (Birmingham)

Company Secretary:

Point to Point: JE Stevenson (Leeds)

Member: A Bennett (Doncaster)

Member: NDMM Daisley (Harrogate)

Member: PJ Dolan (York)

Member: ID Harrison (Coventry)

Member: AJ Preston (Doncaster)

Member: SP Price (Doncaster)

Member: J May (Newcastle upon Tyne)